## Prof. B M Mithal Memorial Lecture and award ceremony

On 18 Nov'2016, Department of Pharmacy, BITS Pilani, Pilani campus organized Prof. B M Mithal Memorial Lecture and award ceremony. Prof B M Mithal joined BITS-Pilani in the year 1950 and his contribution in various capacities are monumental by the way of his association with various pharmaceutical journals, councils and administrative bodies. The event began with the recitation of *Saraswati Vandana*. Dr. Anil Gaikwad, Head of Department, welcomed the chief guest on the occasion, Prof. BG Nagavi (Dean, RAK College of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Ras Al Khaimah, UAE), and other dignitaries, Prof AK Sarkar (Director, BITS Pilani, Pilani campus), Prof RN Saha (Director, BITS Pilani, Dubai campus) and Mr. M L Bansal (Trustee, BM Mithal Trust) to light the ceremonial lamp and pay floral tribute to Prof. B M Mithal.

Prof. Hemant R. Jadhav (Associate Dean, ARD, BITS Pilani) welcomed the guests and mentioned the immense contribution made by Late Prof. B M Mithal to the pharmacy profession in India. Prof. A K Sarkar (Director, BITS-Pilani, Pilani campus) addressed the gathering and highlighted the developments that had taken place in BITS Pilani in the past few years and provided the future vision of the Institute to transform itself into a research-centric globally renowned university. Dr. Anil Gaikwad introduced the chief guest, Prof. B G Nagavi who shared his memories of BITS-Pilani and delivered the Prof. B M Mithal Memorial lecture on "Pharmacy Education & Practice in UAE". He also shared that Prof. Mithal was a man whom everybody admired for his punctuality, methodical and disciplined approach to work.

Prof. B G Nagavi and Prof. A K Sarkar presented the gold medals and certificates to the best graduate students. Prof. BM Mithal Gold medals for the best B. Pharm graduate of the year 2014-2015 and 2015-2016 were awarded to Mr. Shreyansh Jain and Mr. Priyank Raj, respectively. Mr. CNVHB Gupta Gold medals for the best M. Pharm. Graduate of the year 2014-2015 and 2015-2016 were awarded to Mr. Amol Darandale and Mr. Sahil Sama, respectively. The event concluded with the vote of thanks delivered by Dr. S. Murugesan.

"Department of pharmacy BITS Pilani remembers the contribution and ideas given by Prof. BM Mithal as those will act as beacon light for future generations for a long time to come."



Lighting of the ceremonial lamp on the occasion of BM Mithal memorial lecture. Dignitaries on the stage: Dr. BG Nagavi, Prof. AK Sarkar, Prof. RN Saha, Mr. ML Sharma and Dr. Anil B. Gaikwad).